Get schedule and watch live streaming in India

Get schedule and watch live streaming in India

With top names like Mary Kom, Nikhat Zareen and Amit Panghal sitting out, the onus will be on the Olympic medalist Lovlina Borgohain and the experienced Shiva Thapa to lead an otherwise inexperienced Indian contingent at Asian Boxing Championships 2022 in Amman, Jordan, from 1 to 12 November.

World champion Nikhat Zareen, along with fellow Commonwealth Games gold medalist Amit Panghal, opted to take a break after a long season while CWG champion Nitu Ghanghas is nursing a shoulder injury. Six-time world champion Mary Kom recently underwent knee surgery and is recovering.

India will send a 25-member contingent, 13 men and 12 women, to Amman for the upcoming Asian Boxing Championships. The boxers were selected through national tests held in May. The matches can be watched live.

Sachin Siwach, a former world junior boxing champion, was originally supposed to represent India in the men’s 54kg category but was forced to withdraw after undergoing appendicitis surgery. Ananta Chopade has been appointed as his replacement.

World Championship bronze medalist Shiva Thapa, India’s most successful male boxer at the Asian Boxing Championships with five medals, will compete in the 63.5kg category.

The upcoming meeting in Amman will be particularly important for Lovlina Borgohain, who moves to the 75kg weight division from the pet 69/70kg – a category in which she won the bronze medal at Tokyo 2020.

However, the 69 kg welterweight category has been scrapped from the 2024 Paris Olympics, forcing the Assam boxer to switch.

Overall, Lovlina Borgohain has endured a disappointing 2022 season, failing to medal in both the Commonwealth Games and World Boxing Championships held this year. Lovlina won a bronze in the last edition of the Asian Championships.

See also  San Francisco 49ers at Minnesota Vikings preseason: TV, radio, streaming

At the last edition of the continental meet, India won 15 medals, including two gold, five silver and eight bronze. Pooja Rani (Women’s 75kg) and Sanjeet Kumar (Men’s 91kg) won the gold medals.

The Asia meeting will also mark the start of Bernard Dunne era for Indian boxing. The Irish legend was recently appointed as the new High Performance Director for the team following the departure of Swedish Santiago Nieva.

Asian Boxing Championships 2022 Amman: Indian Squad

Men: Govind Sahani (48 kg), Sparsh Kumar (51 kg), Ananta Chopade (54 kg), Md. Hussamuddin (57 kg), Etash Khan (60 kg), Shiva Thapa (63.5 kg), Amit Kumar (67 kg), Sachin (71 kg), Sumit (75 kg), Lakshya (80 kg), Kapil (86 kg), Naveen (92 kg), Narender (+92 kg)

Women: Monika (48 kg), Savita (50 kg), Minakshi (52 kg), Sakshi (54 kg), Preeti (57 kg), Simranjit (60 kg), Parveen (63 kg), Ankushita Boro (66 kg), Pooja (70 kg), Lovlina Borgohain (75 kg), Saweety Boora (81 kg), Alfiya Pathan (+81 kg)

Where to watch Asian Boxing Championships 2022 live in India

Live streaming of the Asian Boxing Championships 2022 will be available on the official Asian Boxing Confederation (ASBC) YouTube channel. There is no live telecast of Asian Boxing Championships on any TV channel in India.

Asian Boxing Championships 2022 schedule and live start times for India

All times are in India Standard Times (IST)

November 1, Tuesday

See also  The calling guide for streaming in June

Preliminary – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 2, Wednesday

Preliminary – 3:30 PM IST onwards

3 November, Thursday

Preliminary – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 4, Friday

Preliminary – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 5, Saturday

Quarter Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 6, Sunday

Quarter Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 7, Monday

Quarter Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 9, Wednesday

Women’s Semi Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 10, Thursday

Men’s Semi Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 11, Friday

Women’s Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

November 12, Saturday

Men’s Finals – 3:30 PM IST onwards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *